Transferring data from one Google account to another is typically as easy as sharing the files with another user and making them owner. There is a caveat though, you have to be on the same domain or GSuite account. Transferring ownership from your business account to your personal account is “not possible”.

I found myself in just such a situation. I had a single folder called Personal that I kept all my personal files in. After scouring the interwebs I found a script called Drive Migrator.

Drive Migrator does not actually move files between accounts. Instead it makes duplicate copies. If you need the data removed from the old account you will have to remove it yourself.

Here is how it works:

  • Login to the Google Drive you want to migrate. Share the folder you wish to migrate with the new Google account.
  • Visit the Drive Migrator script. Login with the account you are migrating to.
  • Select the shared folder that you wish to migrate from. This is where it is handy if everything you want is in a single folder, like the Personal folder I had.
  • Click COPY!
  • Pour yourself a scotch and kick back to wait for the migrator to do its thing.

The script could take a while to run. While it is running you will find a spreadsheet listing the progress. When it completes you will have a folder titles “backup-*” in the root of the target Google Drive. It should contain all the files from the other account.

Double check the contents of the new folder. At this point it should be safe to delete the old folder.